Made in the USA

I have been collecting model cars for a long time but only recently have I found any models actually “Made in USA”. I have a lot of Hot Wheels; Mattel is an American company but the models I have are made in Hong Kong, China, Thailand  or Malaysia.

made-in-usa-pair
Made in the USA: ERTL General Lee and TootsieToy “El Camino”

It was a surprise to find a TootsieToyEl Camino” at Drybridge Market. I think the model comes from the early sixties (correction around 1970, thanks Bill Pulliam). It is heavily playworn; the roof and sides have lost most of the original paint. It also doesn’t look like any “El Camino” I’m familiar with.

The second model appeared about a month later in a secondhand toy store, here in Tbilisi. An ERTL model of the “General Lee” Dodge Charger from The Dukes of Hazzard TV series of the eighties.

made in USA general lee 2
General Lee
I am not sure about the controversial Confederate flag on the roof, but I guess I have Luftwaffe Models with Swastikas and it is faithful to the TV series.
The secondhand toy store also came up with a Hubley Semi Tractor Cab from the sixties, a larger scale than I would usually collect.
Hubley Tractor semi cab 2
Hubley Semi Tractor Cab #1490

 

5 thoughts on “Made in the USA”

Leave a comment